top of page

My Parent's Parent Pat Two

Our culture has a bad habit of numbing and quarantining issues we don't want to deal with. We do this with mental illness. We train ourselves to overlook the homeless. Children in foster care are viewed as someone else's problem. We have created institutions to make matters we can fix someone else's job security. I must admit that I have felt this same way about all of these segments from time to time. I too have not wanted to feel inconvenienced in some way by the dependency of others. But we all know the consequences of saying "I don't feel like it" to everything. If we said that about going to work, we would be out of a job. If we say that about our taking care of our kids, they would be taken away by the state. If we said that about tending to our health, we would eventually face chronic ailments that would drain our livelihood. I must view taking care of my aging relatives in the same way I would view going to a job or exercise. It is not an option. It is something I must do.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page