top of page

My Parent's Parent Part One

It will happen to almost everyone. We will one day have to care for one or both of our parents the way they cared for us when we were children. It is an interesting dynamic. The roles reverse, but not completely. I doubt most people would work up the nerve to give their mother or father a spanking if they got out of line. However, we still feel as though we have to “boss them around” to some extent. I find myself in the early stages of this transition. Sometimes, it is easier if you do not have a family of your own to support. At the same time, you are at a disadvantage because you have no experience to draw from. I try to keep the golden rule in mind. It would be easy for me to do that with my father, given that our personalities are so much alike. I just think, “If I were 80 years old, how would I like to be treated?” Time will tell how good of a job I wind up doing.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page