top of page

Aging Parents

My hope later this year is to take a more active role in caring for my parents and grandparents. This is particularly the case with my dad. I am the only family of his that lives nearby. As with most children that have divorced parents, I have come to feel as though I am taking care of two separate families and not just one big one. The main objective for the year is figuring out how to get my father to move out of his one bedroom apartment and into a two bedroom home with me. He is a veteran, but I am hesitant to place him into the care of the VA. I currently live further away from him than I am comfortable with, so I plan on moving closer to where he lives. I would have an easier time adjusting to the change than he would. Of course, I constantly seek his input on the matter. If at any point he is uncomfortable with anything I am trying to do, I will relent and ask for his opinion. I feel as though a lot of elder care places do not give their residents many options. I would feel better if he retained his freedom for as long as possible.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page